And finally…

Well, it’s the end of the 28 blogs in 28 days challenge, and what have we learned?

Not much. Let’s be honest, it’s a sporadically wordy blog trying to stay afloat in a blipvert world (and if you get that reference, you’re giving away your age, not to mention your geekiness). When I started writing a blog, they were quite fashionable and cutting edge; now, who wants to waste their time reading whole paragraphs? Most people lose interest halfway through a tweet.

Which is not to say that everything I’ve written in the past 28 days has been interesting, of course. I was aware of this pitfall when I started out. You can’t always think of something to say, and the challenge is how you get round that. To use a football analogy, as I try to do at every possible opportunity in life, can you still win when playing badly? Sometimes (as in the blog about Now TV which was looked at by a total of three people), you can’t. Sometimes, as here, you can. 21 people read that, which suggests that the pacing of the build-up kept people going for the pay-off.

Then again, there were occasions when I didn’t get the pacing right, which is a shame. The final paragraph of this one was probably the funniest I got in the whole 28 days, but not many people had the energy to plough through everything that came before it.

The most read one was this, which is fair enough, because it was probably the most worthwhile. The surprisingly romantic ones did well – this one, and this. Who knew I had it in me? Well, I did, which I guess was the point.

Most of them had no more views than the number of people who promised me at the start that they would read them, which is fine. It tells me what I already suspected, which is that my writing only really works if you know me, or certainly my style. Nobody is reading my blogs and thinking they’re worth sharing with the wider world; almost nobody commented on any of them. I think I’m OK with that.

As to whether it was a worthwhile exercise… maybe. The Chris Botti entry makes me laugh every time I re-read it, so I don’t really care that only eight other people did. And in an early one about the phrase “my other half”, I suggested that people gained nothing by “subsuming yourself into your own personal Brundlefly”. I love that line. It only means anything if you’ve seen the David Cronenberg version of The Fly, but if you have it sums up what I was trying to express perfectly. 28 days’ work for seven good words, then. I’m not sure a career change beckons.

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

